Seyi Makinde Wins 31 LGs in Oyo State

by John Ojewale
1 comment
seyi makinde

Seyi Makinde of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) has won the governorship election in Oyo State. The incumbent Governor was declared the winner by the electoral commission (INEC) on Sunday in Ibadan, the state capital.

Governor Seyi Makinde of Oyo State was seeking re-election on the platform of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP). He contested against Senator Teslim Folarin of the All Progressives Congress (APC), and Adebayo Adelabu of Accord.

Governor Seyi Makinde of Oyo State won in 31 out of the 33 local government areas in the state, the gubernatorial election was held in all 33 local government areas of the state on Saturday.

Mr Makinde won the 31 local government areas with a total vote of 563,756 to defeat his closest rival, Teslim Folarin of the All Progressives Congress (APC). Teslim however won in just two local government areas and scored 256,685 votes.

The governorship candidate of the Accord Party, Adebayo Adelabu, came third in the race with a total of 38,357 votes.

The total results were announced by INEC State Collation Officer, Adebayo Bamire.

Bamire announced the PDP governorship candidate as the winner of the election having met the conditions set by Nigerian laws. Bamire is also the vice-chancellor of Obafemi Awolowo University.


cc: Punch Ng

1 comment

LAUTECH Doctors Announce Suspension of Work - NaijaPr May 9, 2023 - 9:37 am

[…] then appealed to the Oyo state government, the general public, traditional rulers, critical stakeholders and interest parties to come and […]


Leave a Comment